Superbrothers: Sword & Sworcery EP: A reflection and a fan-letter

May 16, 2013 § 5 Comments

164

Almost a year ago, I purchased #sworcery as part of a package from Humble Bundle. It quickly became a favorite for a number of reasons, including the music, the unique framing of gameplay, the beautiful pixel art, the courageous female protagonist, and the love and care that went into the details of this game.

Soon after I finished the Scythian’s woeful errand, I felt compelled to share something of my experience with the makers of the game. I wrote an email to Superbrothers’ main and (to my knowledge) sole representative, Craig Adams, unsure who I was writing to, but desperate for someone to know how deeply this game had affected me. Craig was in Japan at the time, touring for the game’s Japanese release; then and with all of my questions since, he has graciously responded, reaffirming the care so apparent in every facet of #sworcery.

I have tried to play through the game again since that summer, but I’ve come to the conclusion that it isn’t the right time yet. It is my hope that I will play it again before too long, and that when I do I can share my experiences here in a meaningful way. I believe this is a game I will play several times in my life, each time finding new significance in the game itself, and through it finding new meaning—renewed courage, faith, passion, love—in my own life.

Now, as when I first wrote the following letter in the summer of 2012, I give my warmest thanks and appreciation to Craig Adams, Jim Guthrie, Capybara Games, and everyone who helped to make this experience possible for me and for countless others. I do not exaggerate when I say that playing Superbrothers: Sword & Sworcery EP changed my life for the better and helped me open my mind to new experiences. Thank you all, and may your work continue to change the way people think about video games, art, and our world.

Spoiler warning: The following letter reveals the ending of Superbrothers: Sword & Sworcery EP

Date: June 19, 2012
Subject: Praise, grief, and hope inspired by SB: S & S EP

To whomever it may concern, or whoever will actually read this, of the creators of Sword & Sworcery:

Let me begin by saying that this is one of the most beautiful games I have ever played, and one of the most intriguing. I downloaded it as part of the Humble Indie Bundle V and could tell I was going to enjoy it. From the beginning I appreciated the framed narration and the breaks between “sessions,” as well as the constant breaches of the fourth wall–all of which are things I don’t often see in video games, and they enriched the experience and made it distinct and personal.

The aesthetic appeal of the game was also undeniable: the music was quirky, epic, aethereal, and jammin’, and it always complemented the scene. I could probably write a whole email on it, but this isn’t why I’m writing.

Counterintuitively, Sword & Sworcery’s constant reminders of the player’s presence, combined with its distinct aesthetic and easy-yet-engaging gameplay, made for the most completely absorbing video game I have ever experienced. Its violations of the conventional boundaries of game and reality and periodic discussion of the player’s psyche made me feel like I was engaged in an experiment, as much upon the world of pixels before me as upon myself. The game’s setting and characters felt that real to me. Memories of the day’s progress in the story relaxed me to sleep several nights; as an insomniac with a tendency to see the sinister in the most innocent of media, I can tell you that this is an accomplishment in itself, that the experience was purely positive while I played.

But I meander still. To get closer to my point, if such a point exists, let me speak of the Scythian. First of all, I was ecstatic when, in the second session, I discovered she was a girl. She is the only girl I’ve met in a video game that didn’t make me scoff. She’s a total bad-ass, and totally believable–that is to say, she isn’t merely a bad-ass chick for the sake of having a chick. I also loved the personality that shone through in her observations in-game. (“We spied the solitary grave at the edge of The Perilous Precipice & we wondered what was up with that.”) Her fluid role as personal avatar and character-unto-herself served to further blend game and reality, but perhaps even more importantly for me, it helped me to sympathize with her, like our goals were one and the same. I wanted to help her, to accompany her on her woeful errand. In the end, I think I truly wanted to be Cosmic Friends Forever.

Perhaps I should praise the writers for actually breaking the law of protagonic immortality. Perhaps it would have been trite if the Scythian had survived her woeful errand. Perhaps it also speaks to her courage and selflessness that she should pursue her quest, knowing the final consequences. Whether or not this is the case, the Scythian’s fate as a martyr hit me like a blind curve at 80mph. I don’t think I started to wonder if she would indeed die until Dogfella’s Megatome entries explicitly mentioned martyrdom somewhere in the third session. Perhaps if I had, I would not have taken the Scythian’s death so unhappily.

As it stands, I have been overwhelmed with grief since the end of the game–unexpectedly so, since, after all, it was Just A Game. I hesitate to even listen to the soundtrack in spite of its great beauty and positive associations, afraid that it will only remind me of how upset I was when I watched the final scene, how I kept hoping the Scythian would be alive somehow when Logfella scooped her out of the river, and how I had to finally resign myself to her death at the funeral pyre. If I could travel to the Caucus Mountains and find the spot, my tears would pour out on the meadow where her ashes were scattered. In my mind, at least, I do travel there, seeking solace from her promise of eternal cosmic friendship. I remain inconsolable.

I think it’s that I believe her death too completely. It hit me as a surprise, but looking back, the signs were there all along. That, at least, is to be admired. I only wish that I could believe in her promise of Cosmic Friends Forever as deeply as I do her death. As it is, I feel betrayed (an emotion I shouldn’t feel about anyone who isn’t a real person, which is also a sign of this game’s brilliance) that she would die the moment she promises we will be Cosmic Friends Forever.

But perhaps I am also sad that the game is over. If nothing else, I do hope that you respect my request that you make more games like this. I know the development team may well be scattered now, working on their separate projects and enjoying greater glories, as well they should be. I also know that the same thing never happens twice, not exactly. But if, somehow, a game could follow in the same spirit as Sword & Sworcery, perhaps I could find closure–or, even better, hope. I know I cannot be the only one; somehow I know that if we could find the place, many would make the pilgrimage to pay respects at the Scythian’s grave, and even more would embark on the quest to find the resting place of her spirit in the Whirling Infinite. I sincerely hope that we will be given that opportunity some day–if not for the Scythian as we know her in Sword & Sworcery, then for the things she represents: Snarkiness, bad-assery, and the ultimate triumph of Good.

If you know nothing else, know that his game holds a special place in my heart. If any of you has taken the time to read all of my ramblings on the subject, then I only hold a deeper respect for you. Come what may, I hope that every one of you continues to revolutionize people’s ideas about video games, and that every one of you continues to rock worlds with the sheer awesomeness with which you’ve rocked mine.

Sincerest regards,
Erica Mathews

Superbrothers: Sword & Sworcery EP is available on iPad and iPhone, Android, and PC (including Steam). For more information about #sworcery, Superbrothers, or Jim Guthrie, visit their websites, follow them on Twitter, or sign up for Superbrothers’ teletex bulletin for periodic email updates.

Superbrothers HQ recently posted on the topic of the final scene, including excerpts from my email accompanied by visuals from #sworcery artwork. The post also features insight into the experience of painting and animation of the final scene from Craig Adams. Read the post here.

Tagged: , , ,

§ 5 Responses to Superbrothers: Sword & Sworcery EP: A reflection and a fan-letter

  • mordicai says:

    Cosmic friends FOREVER.

  • […] friend.  Erica Matthews, of Path of Pins, puts it more elegantly (and even more personally) over here, with her very heartfelt letter to the makers of the […]

  • Velijan says:

    I think it’s the aim of all creative endeavor to affect someone as much as this game affected you.

    This game stuck with me for a lot of reasons, but the biggest one by far is how much it subverted expectations by emphasizing loss and powerlessness, yet still managed to find the silver lining in that.

    I don’t know if you found the “White Stag” or not, but I’d definitely encourage you to if you haven’t. I was really bent on finding some way of saving the Scythian, and that’s where I was lead. I honestly couldn’t say what exactly I found, it goes pretty deep into post-modern territory. It is something you should definitely see though.

    • Thank you for your comment, Velijan. I’ve actually found the white stag, though I haven’t completed the game after finding it. I think I still need time before I return to this finish it.

      You mentioned a sense of loss, and I think you’re totally right about that. This is the only game I’ve ever played that has inspired a true sense of grief, and it’s certainly been a learning experience! I think I’m still learning to accept that loss even with the silver lining, but I know I will have to learn to do so eventually–nothing can keep me from playing this through again.

  • Anonymous says:

    I’m considering writing a fan fiction continuation, where the Scythian is brought back somehow.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Superbrothers: Sword & Sworcery EP: A reflection and a fan-letter at Path of Pins.

meta

